At My Doorstep

This has been a long week.  A very long week as evidenced by working three 12-hour days in a row, giving a presentation and coming down with a cold.  And yet, I am excited.  I’m excited because I pushed through the long week and came out on the other side feeling rejuvenated and hopeful.  At the end of the Long Week Tunnel stands a parcel of opportunity.

It is not my place to fully disclose the events leading up to/surrounding this conclusion HOWEVER, I need to divulge: the Assistant Director of Nursing at my facility was let go last week.  I am still befuddled, appalled, and on and on but the fact remains that she is gone and we now have incredibly large shoes to fill.  Of course, the Vice President of our company and our Administrator can’t really know how much she did for us so her work and other miscellaneous tasks are being “delegated” to floor nurses because they are not nurses themselves.  It’s a shame that she’s gone but I suppose that’s the way of the world sometimes.

On Tuesday I was approached by the CarePlan Coordinator.  She inquired if I might be interested in taking her position because she is assuming the role of ADON.  I was elated that my name was even considered let alone the fact that she pulled me aside to talk with me about it further.  I got really excited and took it as an offer.  Later that day I approached the Director of Nursing to inquire further and, to my surprise, she shrugged me off.  “If you’re interested, you need to get an application and fill it out and hand it to Candi… Of course, we want to hire from within first so that’s what you need to do….”  WHAT?  This was not my idea of being offered a different position.  Why would I fill out an entire application when they already have that information on file?  I was so put off that the idea has since faded in my mind.  I also realized that I’d be relinquishing my presence on the floor, giving direct care to my residents and honing my skills as a nurse.  I’m pretty much over the thought of accepting the title.  We’ll see what happens, though.

Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday contained me either at home or work.  I worked until at least 5:30 p.m. (and clock-in time is 6:00 a.m.!) those three nights and I was plum tuckered out by yesterday.  Alas, I had to push through because yesterday was the very last day of my Nursing Supervisory Class, a mandatory class for me in order to manage my C.N.A’s (which I’ve been doing all along), and I had to give a final presentation.

Presentations do not bother me.  I like speaking in front of people.  I like the opportunity to share and teach.  Obviously.  I do, after all, have a blog.  Ha.  ANYways, I chose to teach my classmates about wound care.  It was awesome!  My presentation was complete with a handout, samples of  common/popular dressing types, a white board example and a quiz and I loved every minute of it!

This entire class has really grown on me and I’m surprised it went so fast.  Past participants of this class have said “Oh, it was so boring!  It was a bitch-fest!” and “It was lame, nobody would talk” so I was skeptical about whether or not I was going to enjoy having my Fridays taken up for this.  But it was totally different than what people had told me.  Our instructor, Karna, basically embodies my mentality, has achieved goals akin to mine and is just a good person.  I have liked her from Day One.  She is a nurse who now teaches at Kirkwood Community College and also holds a business position at Rockwell Collins.  She is well rounded and respectable, knowledgeable and funny, compassionate about humanity and strives for personal growth in everything she does.  She is a great communicator and I have learned so much from her.

She has a great knack for keeping people down-to-earth.  She proved her abilities again yesterday when she conducted a farewell exercise that I will remember forever.  She brought pretty stationery to class, telling us that she had wanted to get doughnuts or bagels as a farewell-you-guys-have-been-great treat but she didn’t know if anyone’s presentation included food.  It occurred to her that we put too much stock into monetary values and ultimately decided that each of us had to write a short note to every person in the class.  We were told to spread happiness– we had to write about something good or something we liked about the person.  It was great!  It was like Valentine’s Day in October.  I will cherish these notes for a very long time.  They each made me smile; my classmates commended me on my assertiveness, complimented my smile and one even said she’s more outspoken now after having met me… *swoon*

But still, I couldn’t believe that I wouldn’t ever really see Karna again.  Unless I spoke up.  Because, you know, when you have a potential mentor at arm’s length you can’t let her slip away.  (No, I am not stalking her.  I just admire her and know she holds a lot of wisdom that I’d like to be privy to.)  “If you wanted some help with your C.N.A. students, I’d be happy to volunteer,” I told her after most of my (now ex-) classmates bolted for the door upon dismissal.  She seemed surprised that I would offer.  “Even if it’s just making sure they’re on track at clinicals, I’d love to do it!” I pressed on.  We exchanged goodbyes and I went to grab a Mountain Dew before hitting the road.  As if it were an act of fate I decided to stop at the desk and obtain a form I need in order to register for my RN pre-requisites next semester.  The secretary printed my form and I prepared to leave.

Then Karna approached me and told me she’s never really had anyone volunteer to teach before and that she was surprised.  “I think you might actually be qualified to teach a section of C.N.A. clinicals and there’s a definite shortage of instructors so let me get your information and do some checking.  I could definitely help you get started and be your mentor.”  I was elated!  I am so passionate about nursing that it would be a pity for me not to teach, although I didn’t expect to be jumping into it so early in my career.  That doesn’t mean I’m not ready or unsure, I’m just stoked that it’s a possibility right around the corner.  I really, really hope that something comes out of the idea.  I’d LOVE to teach and know that even if I inspire just one person to become a nurse it will have been worth it.

There you have it.  The world of opportunity I found just lying on my doorstep this week.  I’m going to open it up and see what’s in store for me…

5 thoughts on “At My Doorstep

  1. Miss Britt says:

    Dude, you didn’t just find that – you went and got it. GOOD FOR YOU!

  2. I visit around 15 hospitals a week. As such, I see, talk to, and interact with A LOT of nurses. Unfortunately, it seems that many (not the majority though) just really hate life and helping people. Without writing a novel here, I just really think it’s awesome (big understatement, but I can’t think of a better word) that you love and enjoy helping people get better.

  3. Selma says:

    Good on you, Bre. You deserve every success!

  4. Bre says:

    Thanks guys! ❤

Leave a Reply

