Time Flies!

“I can’t believe it’s October already!”  I’ve said this umpteen times over the past few days and it’s only the 7th of October.  I catch myself making these statements at various points in my day, sometimes altered with a time (“I can’t believe it’s 11:00 already!”), sometimes a day of the week, sometimes the weather…  It’s true, time does fly.  How else do you think it moves so quickly?

Somebody once told me, “The older you get, the quicker time passes” and I’m discovering the truth in this.  I’m only 22 years old but many of you know that my “life experience years” outnumber my earthly ones.  But I have noticed that as I get older, the time does seem to go more quickly.  Sometimes days merge together and the walls that hold information specific to one day bend, leaving me to ask “Is it Wednesday already?” 

On the 17th of this month my niece will turn 2.  I can’t believe it.  I have a flashbulb memory of the day I found out I was going to be an aunt.  It was a warm summer day, with bright Iowa sunshine warming my face.  I was taking a leisurely stroll and answered my sister’s call.  I immediately noted the worry in her tone and guessed she was pregnant.  It’s all so clear to me but, really, it was three summers ago.  I can also vividly recall the day I met my niece– the day she was born.  I checked my voicemail between classes and listened to my mom’s voice crack as she debriefed the birth into her phone.  I could hardly stand the 1.5 hour drive to the hospital that day.  I remember it as though it were yesterday.  Alas, it was nearly two years ago. 

Speaking of years… Jay and I are coming up on a mini-milestone in our lives.  We’ve almost been together for a year.  Yeah, yeah… I know you’re thinking “Wow. Why am I reading this?” or “So what? Big deal, being together for one year”.  But you know what?  It is a big deal to me.  Because the way we met was so random and unexpected and for us to have persevered through (almost) 52 weeks together and still be giddy to see each other is an accomplishment.  I’m still as much in love with Jay today as I was when we first met. 

Let me tell you a story…

          I was at a bar enjoying a brew with my girlfriend, sort of celebrating her birthday when someone caught my eye.  I had a pretty clear view of him and tried not to make it too obvious that I wanted to know more about him.  He was playing pool with some buddies and it appeared that he was on a date or something.  There were a couple of girls laughing obnoxiously whenever he spoke to them.  I periodically gazed across the room to gauge the situation, to see if he was on a date or not.  I ultimately decided to approach him and just get the facts.  I sauntered across the room, making sure to suck in my tummy and not hold my chin too far into the air.  ‘Shoulders back, easy gait’ I repeated in my head. 

          I approached Jay’s best friend at the pool table.  Noting that the game had ended I offered, “I’ll play you Rock, Paper, Scissors and whoever wins gets to be that guy’s partner (pointing to Jay).”  Caleb agreed and I ultimately beat his ass won the game and subsequently met Jay.  I was shocked to find that the conversation came easy and I was comfortable being my absolute self around him.  I brought down his game in pool and he didn’t even flinch.  He invited Samantha and I to go along with Caleb and him for some post-bar beer at his place.  We agreed to go and so it was.  Jay and I carried on a 4 hour meet-and-greet with each other, not going to bed until dawn.  We talked and talked and laughed and smiled and shared and listened and kissed.  I knew what I was feeling was lust and excitement.  At least that’s what I told myself, not wanting to be hurt again.  I was tickled when Jay said “It feels like I’ve known you forever”.  I wholeheartedly agree.  We clicked.  Of course, our friends gave us grief about spending so much time together but we didn’t care.  We fell in love.  When neither of us were looking for it.  (Fact: my legs were despicably unshaven.)  We were both recovering from a breakup and didn’t go out looking for anyone.  And still, we found each other.

When Jay told me he was moving out of Cedar Falls to attend the University of Iowa (more than an hour and a half away) I was disheartened and confronted with a choice: continue the relationship, knowing it has a boundary or end the relationship because, after all, he’s moving away.  What to do?  I followed my heart.  And it walked right into Jay’s arms.  The body of our relationship unraveled so quickly I think we both questioned our footing.  “I want you to know that I already care a lot about you” I would tell Jay.  After he reassured me that I wasn’t crazy for feeling so strongly I fell into a comfortable rhythym with him and ultimately decided to pack up and move.  The compass of my heart led the way. 

I feel like we’ve been together for years.  When I recall memories from early in our relationship I can’t help but say, “Isn’t that crazy?  We haven’t even known each other for a year, let alone been together for a year!”  And then the saying plays on the airwaves… Time flies!

Indeed, it does.  I’m glad time has flown me here.  I’m glad I met Jay.  I’m glad we’ll be spending our second Christmas together, building more and more memories.  I’m also glad I had the opportunity to surprise the hell out of him with Kings of Leon tickets as a souvenir of the birth of our relationship.  (This deems me best girlfriend ever, right?)

I haven’t figured out how to slow time down so all I can think to do is fasten my seatbelt and listen for the captain to say “Full speed ahead!”  Life is wonderful.

4 thoughts on “Time Flies!

  1. Avitable says:

    Congratulations on one year – you seem to have a great perspective on life and relationships and hopefully Jay can hang onto you!

  2. Miss Britt says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww, this is so sweet.

  3. Joe says:

    Every long-term relationship had a one year anniversary, and now you’re having yours.

    Me and the wife had a similar situation with dating for just a couple months before she moved 2 hours away. I packed up and followed. 6 years later, I couldn’t be happier.

  4. Selma says:

    That is a really great story of the way you met. Sometimes it is the unexpected meetings that are the most long-lasting. I hope you celebrate many, many more years together. And Kings of Leon? I am totally jealous. I saw them the last time they were in Sydney and they were fantastic. Their lead singer is hot!

Leave a Reply

