A Thursday Letter written with gratitude

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Kane,
Wow!  Can you believe our first Christmas together is done and that 2012 is on its way out?  I reflect a lot on “this time last year…” and when I think of the year’s end last year, I remember feeling kind of downtrodden and feeling a little like the pieces of my life didn’t quite fit.  I looked expectantly to 2012 although I had no idea how quickly things would change early in the year. 
When I signed up to enter the RN program in February, I kind of did it on a whim.  I had been toying with the idea of going back to school and once my mind was made up it was on!  I went to Kaplan because I love the school and the structure, but I chose Urbandale because I had intentions of moving to Ankeny.  Coming home to Marshalltown in 2010 was kind of hard because I had made a life in a city far enough away from that dinky town, and coming home kind of felt like taking a couple steps back.  I wanted to move to Ankeny because it was to be a brand-new city for me- a place where Jude and I could start fresh, you know?
February turned into March and Kayla kept telling me “My brother’s talking about asking you on a date”.  The first couple of times she said it I was giddy and told her I’d very much enjoy that.  By the fourth time I replied “Well, when??”  I chuckle now, thinking how funny that dialogue was in regard to you, because it’s a lot like how we communicate now.  We banter and toss around ideas and I’ll bust out a matter-of-fact question.
March turned into April and then our story began.  The chemistry between us has been undeniable, and I know we talk about this a lot.  But what amazes me the most about our relationship is how much and how often we grow, and how we grow together.  Things happened at a rather accelerated rate with us and that can leave room for “Oh, boy, did we jump in too soon?” to run through a woman’s mind.  But regardless of our obstacles and regardless of how big the lesson, we work things out.  And we get better each time, which pleases me to no end.
The thing that has been on my mind the most lately is how easy it is for you to love me.  When I regard you as my partner, the term couldn’t be truer.  Your support and teamwork in parenting is a big deal to me.  Sometimes I wonder how I even managed as a single mom!  It’s really a luxury to have someone change that crappy diaper first thing in the morning and I don’t thank you enough.  Beyond that, the way you back me up with the kids means a lot to me.  It solidifies our partnership and I love it.
I am amazed at how you rarely sweat the small stuff and how it’s of no question to supplement my needs.  (And you can ask anyone in my family- I need someone who doesn’t get bent out of shape over details to balance my sometimes-high strung personality. Ha!)  Your “if you need it and I can help” attitude is the stuff good people are made of.  My life goal is to be a good person, and having one by my side helps that journey along.  Your genuine heart and willingness to help is one of the reasons I love you. 
I write this Thursday Letter with a heart of gratitude.  I want to thank you for the beautiful Christmas we have just shared together.  I want to thank you for all you do for me, day after day.  Thank you for supporting my education, my career.  Thank you for your hard work and energy exerted for our family.  I am blessed to call you mine and love you so, so much. 
Yours,
Bre

5 thoughts on “A Thursday Letter written with gratitude

  1. Love this. Love that you have love. Love you! Love, love, love!

  2. Jasmine says:

    YES, I second the motion that you NEED a man who will NOT sweat the small stuff and can talk you down from the tight-rope…I sense some relief of that duty coming on ;)
    I can relate to the rest, and it’s funny to me how, once again, the path we walk is the same road to somewhere…I love you, and I am happy to have you relate to the journey.

    • Bre says:

      Remember when your mom gave me that book, “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff” for Christmas? I was like “Whaaat? I dooon’t!” LOL, but growing up in the last decade has made me realize that I used to. You and I always travel a journey together, and it never ceases to amaze me how God does really know exactly what he’s doing. I love you Sister!

  3. Melissa says:

    it will be curious to see how your letters evolve as time passes.

    be baffled if you will by the quickness of intimacy and committment…but revel in it, grow in it, and continue appreciating it.

    i do pray that Kane is absorbing these words.

Leave a Reply

